Make a big difference to The Big Idea.

Help us tell the most creative stories.

Become a supporter

Wellington Theatre Awards 2015

Most Original Production All Our Sons – Taki Rua Productions / Circa Theatre
The Wellington Theatre Awards were celebrated Sunday 6 December, at Circa Theatre.


In 2015 the Cultural Capital was host to 191 theatre events, all of which were celebrated Sunday 6 December at the Wellington Theatre Awards, held at Circa Theatre.

Hosted by debonair MC James Nokise, and hilariously accompanied by minstrels Carrie Green and Jack Buchanan - this epic, diverse and creative year was recognised as a make or break moment for the industry. In going forward in an increasingly tough arts market, unnanimous calls for collaboration, creativity and community were encouraged.

Big winners on the night were All Our Sons by Witi Ihimaera and produced by Taki Rua Productions and Circa Theatre – taking home six awards for Lighting Design (Jennifer Lal), Sound Design (Maaka McGregor), Original Production, Actor (Rob Mokaraka), Director (Nathaniel Lees) and Production of the Year.

Also honoured on the night were Critics’ Wildcard Tawata Productions, for their tireless and inspired work creating Matariki Festival – a celebration of indiginous playwrighting. The Critics received the Mayor’s Significant Contribution to Theatre, for their dedication and commitment to bridging the gap between arts and audience, especially noted was Laurie Atkinson (Evening Post / Dominion Post) for his 35 years service as a Wellington Theatre Reviewer.

Signifiacant Contributions to Theatre were given to Neil Grey of Chapman Tripp, for his patronage and support of the Theatre Awards, and Tim Gordon for his advocacy and leadership of the Theatre Awards.

The Wellington Theatre Awards Trust would like to acknowlege our generous  sponsors – Circa Theatre, BATS Theatre, Capital E, Emerging Artist Trust, E Caster, Park Road Post, Playmarket, Sileni Estates, Taki Rua, The Dominion Post, Toi Whakaari, Wellington City Council, Victoria University of Wellington, The Pro Actors, and Weta Digital.

Full list of 2015 winners.

Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre

The Critics

Most Promising Male Newcomer

Andrew Paterson – The Angry Brigade

Most Promising Female Newcomer

Carrie Green – Conversations With My Penis

The George Webby Most Promising New Director

Miriama McDowell – Nga Pou Wahine

The Peter Harcourt Outstanding New Playwright

Helen Vivienne Fletcher – How To Catch A Grim Reaper

The Paul Jenden Costume Designer of the Year

Ian Harman - The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Lighting Designer of the Year

Jen Lal – All Our Sons

Set Designer of the Year

Ian Harman – Ache

Sound Designer of the Year

Maaka McGregor – All Our Sons

Most Original Production

All Our Sons – Taki Rua Productions / Circa Theatre

The Constance Scott Kircaldie Outstanding Composer of Music

Phil Jones – The Kitchen at the End of the World

Absolutely Positively Outstanding New New Zealand Play

Not in our Neighbourhood – Tikapa Productions

Supporting Actor of the Year

Jamie McCaskill – Seed

Supporting Actress of the Year

Brianne Kerr – Richard III

The Richard Campion Accolade for Outstanding Performance

Renee Lyons – Ache

The Dorothy McKegg Actress of the Year

Kali  Kopae – Not In Our Neighbourhood

The Grant Tilly Actor of the Year

Rob Mokaraka – All Our Sons

Director of the Year

Nathaniel Lees – All Our Sons

Production of the Year

All Our Sons – Taki Rua Productions / Circa Theatre

Critics’ Wildcard

Tawata Productions

Outstanding Contribution to the Wellington Theatre

Tim Gordon

Outstanding Contribution to Wellington Theatre

Neil Gray

Source: Wellington Theatre Awards


Written by

Brianne Kerr Publicity

11 Dec 2015

Interests: I am an enthusiastic and effective publicist who can help you grow an audience, launch an event, plan media involvement, and enhance your project. I have a working knowledge of New Zealand wide media and am actively involved in the Wellington arts community.