Make a big difference to The Big Idea.

Help us tell the most creative stories.

Become a supporter

Variety Artists Club of New Zealand 2018 Award Recipients

Brendan Dugan 2018 Benny Award recipient
Geoff Sewell recipient of the International Achievement Award
Leighton Smith recipient of a VAC Scroll of Honour
Hipstamatics perform at the 2018 Benny Awards
Michael Hurst ONZM and Jennifer Ward-Lealand ONZM both recipients of a VAC Scroll of Honour, with Patron David Hartnell MNZM
The Lady Killers perform at the 2018 Benny Awards
The Variety Artists Club of New Zealand is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2018 Benny Awards.


The Variety Artists Club of New Zealand is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2018 Benny Awards.

The black tie event was held at Crowne Plaza in Auckland City on Sunday 14th of October 2018 and featured performances from Geoff Sewell, The Ladykillers, Hipstamatics, Le Cirque De JP, Rebecca Wright, Mick Peck, John McGough and The Dust Palace.

Benny Award : Brendan Dugan

Agnew Award for Excellence : Mike Walker

VAC Scrolls of Honour : Jonathan Acorn, Peter Caulton (posthumous), Penny Dodd, Michael Harvey, Michael Hurst ONZM, Leighton Smith, Jennifer Ward-Lealand ONZM, Michele Watson

Pat McMinn Rising Star Award : Sammie Campbell

Fullers Entertainment Award : Glyn Tucker Jnr

Top Children's Entertainer Award : Science in a Van (Alan & Emily Worman)

Rielly Comedy Award : Jeremy Corbett

Nostalgia Award : Arthur Baysting

Stage & Screen Travel Top Group Award : Halo

NZEA Award For Top Musician : Rob Galley

Pacific Entertainment Award For Top Female Artist : Jamie McDell

Pub Charity Award For Top Male Artist : Marlon Williams

Lou Clauson Award For Top Variety Artist : The Bradas

Limelight Productions International Achievement Award : Geoff Sewell

President's Medallion : Midge Marsden MNZM

Patron's Award : Barbie Davidson

Our special thanks to :

Our superb Master of Ceremonies : John McGough.

Our major sponsor : Pub Charity Ltd.

Our award sponsors : Stage and Screen Travel, NZ Entertainment Academy, Limelight Productions and Entertainment and Pacific Entertainment.

Our wonderful performers for their goodwill, time and talents : Hipstamatics, Le Cirque De JP, Rebecca Wright, The Lady Killers, Duo Adagio from The Dust Palace, Geoff Sewell and Mick Peck.

Our Patrons and guest presenters : David Hartnell MNZM and Somboon Khansuk, Gray Bartlett MBE and Trish Bartlett, Alan Watson QSM and Michele Watson, Tracy Adshead, Suzanne Lynch MNZM, Tina Cross ONZM, Tom Sharplin, Glenda Law, Marian Burns MNZM, Sam Beeston and Scott James, Samantha Toner-Green, Robyn Alexander, Kevin Greaves, Bruce King and Guy Cater.

Our key suppliers : The team from Van Gent Enterprises and Audio Visual People, Paul Randall of Captures Video, Ace Electroplating, Auckland Live and Crowne Plaza Hotel

The VAC was formed in 1966 and welcomes membership from professional entertainers and those involved in the industry.  The Benny Award has been presented to many household names and figureheads of entertainment and is seen as the highest honour for a variety entertainer in New Zealand.


Written by

Mick Peck

15 Oct 2018

Auckland Magician Mick Peck is an award winning entertainer and member of London's Magic Circle, the world's premier magic society.