Make a big difference to The Big Idea.

Help us tell the most creative stories.

Become a supporter

× Sorry, you're too late! This opportunity closed 1 month ago. Visit our WORK section to see current opportunities.

Nominations Open for the Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement 2022

Job details

Creative New Zealand
11 Jul 2022
Work type
Awards, grants & residencies, Call for entries, Expressions of interest
Work classification
Literature & Publishing


The annual Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement recognise New Zealand writers who have made a notable contribution to New Zealand literature in the genres of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Amount $60,000                Closing 1pm, 11 July 2022


Who can be nominated

Nominees must:

  • Be a living New Zealand writer
  • be a New Zealand citizen or permanent resident
  • be a writer whose work has received acclaim and been acknowledged by their peers and the general public
  • not be a previous recipient of the award in any genre — see all previous recipients



Acclaim and acknowledgement of the writer will be shown by having:

  • written a body of work that has received national acclaim
  • received a major fellowship, residency, book award and/or international recognition
  • shown leadership in the New Zealand literary sector.


Who can make a nomination?

  • Anyone may make a nomination.
  • Writers may also nominate themselves.
  • Employees of Creative New Zealand, the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and members of the Arts Council may not make nominations or be nominated.
How to apply

How to make a nomination

  1. Check that the writer meets the award category criteria listed above. You can only nominate one writer for each award category.
  2. Complete and submit the online Nomination Form - it will automatically be sent to Creative New Zealand. Ensure you submit this by 1pm on Monday 11 July 2022. (No late nominations will be accepted.)
  3. You can nominate one writer per category. To nominate another writer for another award category, you need to complete a separate nomination form.

Written by

Joy - Operations, The Big Idea

8 Jun 2022