Home  /  Community-announcements  / 

Aotearoa Music Photo Award 2024 winners

02 Jun 2024
Image Auckland is delighted to announce the winners of 2024 Music Photography Award - Whakaahua Puoro Toa

Image Auckland is delighted to announce the winners of 2024 Music Photography Award - Whakaahua Puoro Toa


2024 1st Prize winner is - Brenna Gotje - 'Princess Chelsea band - Town Hall'. Congratulations to Brenna.


Judge Federico Monsalve said, "Capturing a single, fleeting moment when a musician is in an almost trance-like communion with its instrument. This photograph is delightful in its composition and its ability to contain an enigmatic burst of energy. The background light is almost heavenly both in its texture and directionality; the backdrop instruments and equipment appear as if officiating whatever primordial dance is going on in front of them while nearby, a pair of pants with fleeting butterflies add even more condensed, solidified movement to this tableau. I was instantly attracted to this raw image because, although intrinsically bound to the music it is trying to capture, it plays by its own rules to create an artwork in its own right."

Brenna wins $1250 in cash and her winning image will be part of future exhibitions of the 2024 AMPA.

Brenna stated, "Thanks so much! It was great just to have it on the website, its incredible validation, I just love photographing musicians… but to win… it is absolutely insane!"


2024 2nd Prize winner is - Tom Grut - Weyes Blood, performing at Powerstation. Congratulations to Tom.

Judge Federico Monsalve said, "This image’s superpower is its ability to capture a single, clear message: “ethereal.” Beyond theatrics or stage settings, a simple, mostly in-camera treatment clearly depicts the singer’s intent and gives a very clear indication as to the essence of her sound.  It is simple and minimal, restrained yet moody and it carries within it a rhythmic flow that fits the subject impeccably."


Tom stated, "Very stoked! Her music was so angelic that I was trying to capture some of that ethereal quality by playing around with shutter speeds and the way the light was reflecting against that white dress. It was all quite dreamy." Tom wins $500 in cash.


People's Choice Prize 2024 winners - are Samantha Davies, Jonas Brothers - Spark Arena, Feb and Doug Peters - Taylor Swift - Mt Smart, Auckland 2018 (This Taylor Swift image was a delayed Award whilst we assessed where the image was taken (given the recent tour in Australia by the star). Both win a $250 Prezzy card.


Thanks to all the photographers who took part, over 250 entries from across Aotearoa, from Marton, Unsworth Heights, Lyall Bay Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Papamoa, Hastings, Porirua, Kirikiriroa, Bay of Plenty, Whitianga, Waiheke Island, Gisborne, Rotorua. Go Kiwi music image makers!


To date the Festival has supported NZ music photographers with over $7750 in prize money since 2021, and we host an ongoing 4 year archive of over, approx 1250 images from around Aotearoa on our website which can be enjoyed by the public 24/7.


This prize is totally unique and is NZ's only music photography Award!


View all entries - https://photographyfestival.org.nz/photo-blog/index.cfm